School Logo

Our Lady’s R.C. High School

To Know, Love and Serve God



NHS England


The National Health Service (NHS) is the umbrella term for the publicly-funded healthcare systems of the United Kingdom (UK). Since 1948 they have been funded out of general taxation. There are four systems, one for each of the four countries of the UK: The NHS in England, NHS Scotland, NHS Wales and Health and Social Care in Northern Ireland. They were established together in 1948 as one of the major social reforms following the Second World War. The founding principles were that services should be comprehensive, universal and free at the point of delivery—a health service based on clinical need, not ability to pay. Each service provides a comprehensive range of health services, free at the point of use for people ordinarily resident in the UK, apart from dental treatment and optical care. In England, NHS patients have to pay prescription charges; some, particularly those receiving state benefits, are exempt.


The careers hub can still be contacted by students with any queries related to careers in health and social care by emailing
Lets find out what NHS Career you are suited to - quiz
Is Social Care the right career for you? -quiz
Finding out about Allied Health Professional
Apprenticeships, Traineeships and cadet Schemes - find out more
Explore different roles in NHS by video
Being a Nurse in Greater Manchester
"We are the patient experience" video
Do you have our shared values? Quiz
So you want to become a Doctor?
So you want to become a Nurse?
So you want to work in Social Care?